Tags

, ,

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Taormina is a charming little Sicilian town. It sits high above the Mediterranean Sea, and provides a gorgeous view of Mount Etna, Europe’s largest active volcano. It is also my last stop for this cruise.

After leaving Savoca, we drove about twenty minutes south to Taormina. The taxi driver dropped us off at the town gate, and we set off on our own.

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Our first stop was the town’s historic centerpiece: The Ancient Greek Theater. It is massive and pretty well-preserved.

Taormina, Sicily, Italy, Greek Theater

But what was most impressive were the views it offered of the surrounding area.

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Looking south, towards Etna.

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Looking north, towards Messina.

Taormina, Sicily, Italy, Greek Theater

Taormina, Sicily, Italy, Greek Theater

Having Etna loom over the background gives this theater a very unique atmosphere. I’d love to see what a performance here was like during ancient times.

After the theater, we walked back into the main part of town. I spotted a bakery as I was strolling, and went inside searching for a very famous local specialty.

Taormina, Sicily, Italy, bakery

If there’s one food item I associate with Sicily, it’s cannoli. This creamy and crunchy dessert is popular even in America, but I never see my local bakeries carrying them. Now’s my chance to get it straight from its motherland.

Taormina, Sicily, Italy, Cannoli

This is what I walked out with, an approximately five-inch tube of God knows how many calories. The cream was extremely thick and rich, almost like a custard. The dough was also thick, and nicely balanced out the sweetness of the cream. I didn’t have much cannoli experience before this, but this was the best one I’ve eaten yet.

As I ate my cannoli, I continued walking through the city center.

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

At the end of the main street is a plaza. Like at the Greek Theater, you also get a view of Etna (though not as good).

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Taormina, Sicily, Italy

After this, we rejoined our cab driver and headed back to the ship. Later that evening, we sailed by the volcanic island of Stromboli and were lucky enough to catch it erupting.

Stromboli

Stromboli

Look at that lava!

Stromboli

From here I’d sail back to Rome and meet up with more family members for yet another cruise. That will be another series for another time. As I write this, I’m actually getting ready to set off on another sailing, this time from New York City to Bermuda on the Norwegian Breakaway. It was an extremely last-minute deal that I just couldn’t pass up, and I look forward to seeing (and eating) many interesting things.

I will keep writing to you all when I get back. Happy travels!

